Oskar Pfister Award

The Oskar Pfister Award was established in 1983 in memory of Oskar Pfister, an ordained minister who studied and used psychoanalytic principles in his work. The award is given to honor outstanding contributions in the field of psychiatry and religion. Nominees for the award must provide the following materials for review:

Submission Requirements:

  • Nomination letter summarizing how and why the nominee is deserving of the award
  • One-page biographical sketch of the nominee
  • Curriculum Vitae of nominee 


All nominations must be submitted electronically at diversityatapa@psych.org

Nominations are reviewed by a selection work group of the APA Council on Minority Mental Health and Mental Health Disparities consisting of a representative from the Council and the officers of the Caucus on Religion and Psychiatry, and the Association of Professional Chaplains.

Staff Contact: Alison Bondurant (703-907-8639)

Past Oskar Pfister Award Recipients


If you, or someone you know is in suicidal crisis or emotional distress, click here for a list of resources.