George Tarjan Award

Named after APA’s first international medical graduate (IMG) president, George Tarjan Award recognizes a physician who has made significant contributions to the enhancement of the integration of IMGs into American psychiatry. Nominees for the award must provide the following materials for review:

Submission Requirements:

  • Nomination letter summarizing how and why the nominee is deserving of the award
  • One-page biographical sketch of the nominee
  • Curriculum Vitae of nominee 


All nominations must be submitted electronically at

Nominations are reviewed by a work group of the APA Council on Minority Mental Health and Mental Health Disparities consisting of a representative from the Council and the officers of the Caucus of IMG Psychiatrists.

Staff Contact:

Alison Bondurant (703-907-8639)

Past George Tarjan Award Recipients



If you, or someone you know is in suicidal crisis or emotional distress, click here for a list of resources.