Alexandra Symonds Award

The Alexandra Symonds Award was established in 1997 in memory of Alexandra Symonds, MD, an APA Fellow and co-founder of the Association of Women Psychiatrists. This award is given to recognize and honor a woman psychiatrist who has made significant contributions to promoting women's health and the advancement of women. Nominees for the award must provide the following materials for review:

Submission Requirements:

  • Nomination letter summarizing how and why the nominee is deserving of the award
  • One-page biographical sketch of the nominee
  • Curriculum Vitae of nominee 

Deadline: Extended to July 17, 2015. All nominations must be submitted electronically at

Nominations are reviewed by a selection work group of the APA Council on Minority Mental Health and Mental Health Disparities consisting of a representative from the Council, the officers of the Caucus of Women Psychiatrists, and representatives from the Association of Women Psychiatrists.

Staff Contact: Alison Bondurant (703-907-8639)

Past Alexandra Symonds Award Recipients


If you, or someone you know is in suicidal crisis or emotional distress, click here for a list of resources.